Kazakhstan - 02

Kazakhstan: Security and Political Concerns Follow Kyrgyzstan’s EEU Accession

On 20 May the Kyrgyz parliament approved the country’s accession to the EEU to join the union’s four member states: Russia, Kazakhstan, Belarus and Armenia. While the decision is not yet finalized, as the four members must approve Kyrgyzstan’s entry through their own parliaments and the country must meet certain requirements, its accession reflects the various pressures it faces. On one hand, Russia pressured Kyrgyzstan politically and incentivized it monetarily to join the EEU; on the other, EEU membership is a pragmatic choice to open Kyrgyzstan to greater investment and economic security, as the country is nearly bankrupt and is heavily dependent on agriculture and reselling Chinese goods in the region.

To continue reading, please submit your contact details along with a short message below indicating what you'd like to learn more about and we'll get back to you.